Rugby Awards Ceremony

Banbridge Academy rugby awards ceremony Banbridge Academy held their annual Rugby awards ceremony last week to mark an end to their season and honour the standout players for all nine rugby teams in the school. Headmaster Mr Robin McLoughlin presented trophies to captains, players of the year and most improved players and also took the chance to say a few words of encouragement to the boys. He commended the players on their hard work throughout the season and congratulated them on another fine year in terms of results and performances. He also commented on the commitment of the coaching staff, namely the school staff of Brian Leslie, Brian O’Shaughnessy, Tim Baxter, Jonny Erskine, Chris Beacom, Chris Nash & Alan Harvey and the outside coaches Roy Stevenson, Andrew Craig, Robbie Ervine, Michael Daly, Jemma Jackson, Chris Patterson, Calum Russell and Stevie McCusker of Knowledge Fitness and paid tribute to their hard work in coaching, refereeing and organisation of teams. The performance of all the teams was commended, with six teams playing each Saturday, an U13 ‘B’ team playing midweek and two Under 12 teams playing each Friday, the numbers playing the game are certainly on the rise. The U12 and U13 teams in particular had very strong seasons with the U12 winning the Down High tournament and the U13 being crowned team of the year due to an outstanding playing record. A full breakdown of the individual award winners is below:

U12 ‘A’ XV Player of Year: Ryan Hanna Callum Little Andrew Jackson Michael Porter

U12 ‘B’ XV Player of Year: Jamie McGaw Zac Foster

U13 ‘A’ XV Captain: Fergus Alway Player of Year: Daniel Hutchinson Most Improved: Thomas Humphries

U13 ‘B’ XV Captain: Kian Moran Player of Year: Adam Kidd Most Improved: Freddy Elliot

U14 ‘A’ XV Captain: Scott Allen Player of Year: Scott Allen Most Improved: Ryan Wall

Medallion XV Captain: Ben Bradshaw Player of Year: Marcus McNeill Most Improved: Joel Good/ Ollie Norris

3rd XV Player of Year: Eoin Doyle Most Improved: JB McElroy

2nd XV Captain: Stephen Hanna Player of Year: Korey Knox Most Improved: Jonny Martin

1st XV Captain: Andrew Denver Top Try Scorer: Andrew Denver & Matthew Robinson Overall P.O.Y.: Andrew Denver U6 P.O.Y. : Andrew Denver L6 P.O.Y.: Adam Hanna Yr 12 P.O.Y.: Jake Houston Most Improved: Jake Beattie Clubman: Lloyd Donaldson Ulster Rep: Adam Hanna – Ulster U18 &19 Irish U18 Clubs & Schools Team of the year U13 XV

Most Improved
Players of the year
Filed under: Uncategorized

Adam Hanna & Marcus McNeill selected for Ulster Squads

Congratulations to Adam Hanna & Marcus McNeill who have been selected for the Ulster U19 & U17 summer squads.

Filed under: Uncategorized

U12 & U13 North Coast Mini Tour

Filed under: Uncategorized

Medallion 7’s Tournament

Filed under: Uncategorized

U12 Win Down High Tournament

Filed under: Uncategorized

U12 v Dromore

Filed under: Uncategorized

U13 reach final of Grosvenor Tournament

Filed under: Uncategorized

Masters Shield v Dromore

Filed under: Uncategorized

Medallion v Dromore

Filed under: Uncategorized

U12 v RS Armagh

Filed under: Uncategorized